The 6 Most Precious Values My Dad Has Taught Me- Day 359: 365 Radical Self Love Project

It’s Fathers Day and I couldn’t be happier to celebrate my amazing poppa bear.

In honour of his amazing influence on my life tonight I will share with you all some of the most precious things my Dad has taught me throughout my life.

radical self love kelsey grant

The 6 Most Precious Values My Dad Has Taught Me

The value of being happy-

My Dad is one of the most jolly people I know. He is always the first to crack a joke, pull a prank and just laugh at life. This has often reminded me when I get too serious (which in all honesty is pretty regular) to lighten up, laugh and find the humour in life.

The value of being dedicated-

My entire life I watched my Dad infuse all the work he’s ever done with such intention and dedication. He shows up and shows up 100%. I remember when he was my soccer coach in the seven years he coached me and my team he never once missed a practice or a game. He honoured all of our time and effort by being on time, ending on time and showing up every time, even when I’m sure he didn’t feel like it. This dedication has impacted me more than he may ever know. I learned from a very early age to do my best to respect others time and energy and when I say I’m going to do something- do it. A profound life lesson.

The value of doing complete work-

I certainly have acquired my fathers passion for order and meticulous action. I am most at peace when everything matches, is in it’s place and nicely organized. This quality brings a certain peace to my life and truly makes things a whole heck of a lot more workable.

The value of acceptance-

This is a tough lesson for a lot of people, myself included. Having my Dad as a role model enabled me to more easily come to terms with the fact that in life there are things we can’t change and circumstances we can’t control. We can either fight against these conditions, resist them or come into a peaceful acceptance. I truly believe through his example is where I came up with this knowing that “everything that happens is the perfect thing to happen”. This particular motto has helped me immensely when in situations that didn’t go the way I expected or sometimes wanted.

The value of love-

No matter what I’ve done or how I have behaved my Dad has loved me. There has never once been a moment where I questioned his love or believed it wasn’t there. I’ve come to learn we all express and receive love in different capacities and once I figured this out I was even more present to the abundant love and support my father has for me and my brother.

The value of following your heart-

My Dad has been a living breathing example of taking the biggest risk of all- following the path of your dreams. I have learned that this path is often challenging as we face many internal and sometimes external obstacles on the route to fulfilling our hearts desires- but the value of his example resides in not being stopped by this fact. I learned by watching my Dad it was safe to pursue my passions and to follow my heart- knowing that it might not work out but to at least give it a go. No regrets.

I am so deeply blessed to have such an incredible man for a father, someone who has taught me so much and inspired me to go for my dreams and live a life I am truly worthy of. I look forward to all the many years ahead to learn from him and continue to build upon this truly beautiful relationship I have the honour and privilege of sharing with my poppa. Love my Dad so very much!

To all the amazing fathers out there I celebrate you in my heart today. Thank you for all you do. You are loved.

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

