My Secret Sauce For Long Term Success- Day 360: 365 Radical Self Love Project

WOW! 5 Days left in this blogging project!

After my very successful interview this morning with the beautiful Lisa Barnwell with her global conference Bumps and the Boardroom, I wanted to share with you all one of my near and dear secrets for success.

After spending nearly a year with you beauties and documenting the honest journey of Radical Self Love I’ve had the honour of teaching some pretty incredible courses, writing and launching a rocking 30 Day Radical Self Love Program and developing myself as a writer and speaker. My heart is so full with happiness from this entire journey and my intention within this community going forward is to continue to support you all in your own unique journeys of self love.
radical self love kelsey grant

I’ve noticed a pattern among people in my years of teaching and coaching when it comes to making life changes- people get inspired, try to overhaul their lives with big massive changes all at once, continue to take action for a little while but then crash. I’ve gone through this cycle too and it freaking sucks! Nothing is worse than feeling like complete crap and a total failure because you couldn’t keep up with the bazillion new actions “required” to live a happy, healthy and fulfilled life.

Seeing this cycle drives me nuts because it really doesn’t have to be that way. We can set ourselves up for success if we just tweaked a couple small things. I’m going to share those with you today in the hopes you apply them and set out to create a life that inspires your heart and really get to know yourself as someone who is freaking amazing- cause you are!

My Secret Sauce For Long Term Success

Start SMALL.

Seriously. It is the small incremental changes that actually lead us towards long term sustainability. When we try to change handfuls of our habits all at once we will often breakdown and in this breakdown we give our ego free reign to lace into our self esteem and chip away at our self worth. Not OK!

The one amazing and effective way to navigate this trip up is to take on one small shift you are INSPIRED to do. You have to feel good about making the shift and if you are changing because you feel you have to not because you want to- some serious reconsideration may be in your best interests.

We can only change what we are willing to face.

Transformation and change doesn’t have to be hard or confronting but that is often the case when we try to get from zero to 60 in an instant. Establishing empowered habits takes time, consistency and a desire to want something different, something better for ourselves and our lives.

We set ourselves up to succeed when we take small consistent steps towards the big picture instead of sporadic giant leaps- which don’t really lead to any place substantial.

radical self love kelsey grant

For example when I really wanted to get my life back on track many years ago I gave myself one new thing to add into my daily life. At the time it was going to the gym. I knew that if I was consistent with my workouts the rest of the path would open up in divine time.

After a couple months of really anchoring in this new habit of regular workouts I was able to then take a look at my diet and make nessecary changes there. I stayed with those two new habits for about three years. When I was super solid in both I entered the beautiful world of personal development. Having understood this success principal from my past few years of self exploration I applied the same perspective. I took it slow. One transforamtional step at a time.

Eventually I got to where I am now- living a life full of positive and empowered habits (for the most part). It’s easy for me to do all that I do now because I built up my ability to ‘hold’ more of life.

What is one small self love action you are willing to incorporate into your life starting now?

The only requirements:

  1. It needs to be small
  2. It needs to inspire you
  3. It needs to be something that will contribute long term to your success and development.

Possible ideas:

  • Start each day mentally listing 5 things you are grateful for
  • Drink 1 conscious litre of water a day
  • Set a daily intention
  • Smile at 3 strangers each day
  • Give out daily compliments
  • Start a meditation practice 5 mins each day
  • Read a chapter of an inspiring book before bed
  • Look for something new and beautiful you’ve never seen before each day
  • Laugh each day
  • Learn something new each day

There are so many small things that if we did consistently we would create the conditions for more love, abundance, happiness and connection to flood into our experiences. Only you know what honestly works for you so stop comparing what you need to what you see others do. Their life is about them. Your life is about YOU.

You decide.
You call the shots.
Make it up as you go along.
Have fun and be playful with the process.

Give your word to you on something you know you can and will fulfill on- everything else is a misuse of your precious life investment. So go get out into life, savour each second and be ok with starting where you are, starting small and continually grow into the incredible person you are.

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

 

Leave a Reply

