A Walk Down Memory Lane- Covering “Better Life”- Day 323: 365 Radical Self Love Project

Last week at the workshop I taught I pulled an example of how being rooted in a self love and self care practiced prepped me for one of the biggest performances I had done solo at the Calgary Stampede.

Prior to this performance I had never really established a pre-show self care ritual.

Before this game changing performance I did a couple things differently than I usually had.

1. No caffiene- Lets face it as much as I love coffee it does give me the jitters some times- especially when I’m already in an environment where I was prone to being nervous- so I cut it from my morning ritual.

2. High intensity exercise. I went for an early morning summer run to get out any excess anxiety or nervouseness that was there for me.

3. I did a 40 minute meditation, outside sitting on a massive rock (for ultimate grounding) and beside a lake to calm my emotions.

4. I drank a litre of raw green juice. I knew if I wanted to be at my best and the greatest expression of love I needed to put the highest vibin fuel into my body.

These four steps forever changed my experience of performing. For the first time in my entire career of performing live (25 years at this point) I was completely calm before I stepped onto the stage, I was also at peace with whatever was going to happen post performance (I was in a competition).

In the spirit of this magical trip down memory lane I wanted to share with you all the audition song I submitted that landed me in the competition at the Calgary Stampede in front of a crowd of nearly 3000 people. It’s my version of Keith Urbans tune “Better Life”.

Enjoy!

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

