Lessons of a 21 Day Yoga Challenge- Day 274: 365 Radical Self Love Project

Yesterday marked the completion of the 21 day yoga challenge.

I did not complete it as designed and I am totally ok with it.

Here is why:

During this challenge I was brought face to face with something within myself- my ego’s desire to look good. It became very clear to me that my major intention for doing this challenge was to prove to myself I could do it because doing it would make me look good to others in my life.

gentleWell thats all fine and dandy if I had made the choice while taking into consideration of all my other life commitments I had going on at the same time too- AND taking into consideration if the classes offered at the studio would actually harmoniously fit into my jammed schedule. Turns out they didn’t.

For the first week I really stressed myself out to get to yoga- completely anti-yoga- I know, I know 😉

The second week I loosened the reigns on myself and my egos super tight “looking good” grip.

I tuned into what my body actually needed.

I gave myself permission to be flexible, creative and honour my needs

6 Days straight of hot yoga, 1 hot yin class and 1 meditation a week just weren’t working for my body. It was too intense. My schedule didn’t really jive with the studio schedule and the hot classes were pretty much all I could make happen.

When I tuned into what my body wanted everything changed.
  • One day my body was craving a run- so instead of stressing to get to the studio I put on my runners and ran the seawall and enjoyed every second of it.
  • Other days my body craved meditation sessions- so I would load myself up with crystals and zen out in my living room.
  • And other days I made it to my mat in the studio.

I lost track of the amount of classes I took and there were days when I showed up for class and actually forgot about putting a star on the wall chart.

What I “got” about that was it was no longer about the recognition or putting a sticker on the wall (aka listening to the intensity of my ego) it was now about listening to my intuition, my body and my heart. I let my heart guide me day to day to the exact situation that would be best for me in the moment.

I’m so happy I did the challenge because it gave me even deeper perspective, a clearer understanding of my ego and the opportunity to surrender into my path and make the incredible call of what honestly works best for me.

Next time there is a yoga challenge I’ll be sure to put more thought and intention into whether I can honestly make it work or not. Until then I have a wonderful new practice of getting to practice 4-5 times a week. Perhaps that was part of the learning and lesson too 😉

Back to the mat and back to my heart ❤

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

