How Interviewing Your Partner Leads To More Love- Day 272: 365 Radical Self Love Project

Homework is an awesome thing 😉

My assignment today in B-School was to ask my community what my 3 greatest qualities are. I sent out the question to my network and so far have received some pretty wonderful answers.

When my partner arrived home I asked him to share what he thought, his response: “Beautifully open, abundantly authentic and unconditionally loving”. 

Pretty freaking awesome.

Then we decided to go a little deeper and do a mini interview with each other. This was a exercise we both learned in a personal development training program that we hadn’t yet done with each other. Everything happens at the perfect time.

radical self love kelsey grant

The interview was 5 questions.

The way it is set up is that you ask questions about yourself and the other person answers to give you insight into how you occur to them, or in other words who they see you as.

He went first. Which meant I had to answer questions about him. In all honesty I was a little bit nervous, which I observed but continued on with the interview.

The answers that came out of my mouth really surprised me as they required me to go deeper than a surface conversation and to really give him access to who he is to me.

Then it was my turn. I asked the same series of questions and he got to give me access to who I am to me.

A pretty heart opening conversation to say the least.

Among my strengths:

An ability to see the unseen in people and in their lives and an ability to support people through the process of seeing their unconscious or unseen elements in a safe and loving environment.

Among my weaknesses:

Not fully believing in myself or my abilities.

Among the things I can be counted on for:

To be unconditionally loving and nurturing to those in my life.

Among the things I can never be counted on for:

To miss details of any kind.

Among the things my community collectively knows about me:

I will always see them as their greatness and lend support no matter what.

Pretty f’ing cool. So what started as a homework assignment turned into a pretty incredible conversation and opportunity to deepen our bond and really understand more fully who we really are to eachother in this partnership.

Feeling pretty loved and filled with gratitude.

What this exercise has reminded me of

That the conversations that matter  the most in life wont always be the easiest ones to have. The deeply juicy, life changing, heart opening, vulnerability cracking, authenticity revealing conversations that call us to connect on a way more profound level will take something to start.

They will take courage

They will take bravery

They will take love

They will take vulnerability

They will take feeling your fear and resistance and stepping through it

They will take you showing up for yourself and for your life.

These real, raw and revealing conversations are what remind us of our humanity, of our connection and of our ability to live in love’s example. This goodness is possible if we choose to step up and step into the call of our hearts.

All things are possible with an open heart and the power of love.

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

