Burlesque, Body Love and 4 Steps For Full On Self Acceptance- Day 156: 365 Radical Self Love Project

As some of you may know I am a former burlesque performer.

About one month after moving cities nearly 5 years ago I had decided I wanted to learn burlesque and get back into the world of stage performing.

Kelsey Grant Radical Self LoveMy sexuality and personal acceptance of my body were the main themes I was working through at the time and burlesque was my outlet. I chose the route of broadway burlesque which is more or less cabaret style performing. It’s sensual, technical and requires confidence and full on body love.

I trained for a couple months until I felt comfortable getting out into the performing world again and rocking out in my incredible red sequin bra and deliciously yummy costumes. Performing in this manor helped me get back in touch with a part of me I had long been suppressing- my sexual self.

After being in a 3.5 year relationship where all things sexual were kept behind closed doors and appearances were everything, I was feeling less than connected to myself and such a huge part of my being- my sexuality, my feminine energy and the divine sensuality that flows through us all if we allow it.

Even though the style of burlesque I was rockin didn’t require the taking off of clothes, it still required getting on stage, in an incredibly sexy costume, dancing in high heals and exuding confidence and full acceptance of myself, my body and my talents. I’m an incredibly skilled performer, singing and dancing have always come naturally to me. So infusing an area of life I wanted to expand and empower myself in (sexuality) with my natural areas of talent (singing and dancing) made this exploration much easier and fulfilling.

Consistency and repetition = keys to success

radical self love kelsey grantThe more I practiced the better dancer I became. The more I got used to seeing my beautiful body move in the reflection of the mirror in class- to the sensual rhythms of the music the more in touch I got with my inner goddess, my sexual self and the awareness of how important it is for me to have a balanced and positive relationship to my body, my sexuality and my areas of talent.

It took all the courage I had to get on stage some nights but I did it. I felt the fear and I stepped right into it. From this bold action I ended up creating and leading my own burlesque troupe for over a year- who performed original cabaret style numbers, choreographed by me and one of the lead dancers- all for charity. We only performed for charitable events in Vancouver which gave us all a sense of purpose, contribution and self expression.

This morning I saw a video that brought all of this back into my awareness.

When I saw the following video this morning it reminded me of

  • How far I have come on my self love and self acceptance journey
  • How many women, and men, deal often in silence and alone with the pressures to accept their bodies

love-your-body-12

I absolutely love the bold, fierce and courageous message within this video and within this beautiful woman. At some point we have to take our power back and begin reclaiming our self worth. It can be a challenge when surrounded by a bazillion messages every day attempting to program what is beautiful, what a perfect body looks like and how far away most people are from this unrealistic idea.

 

Love yourself just as you are. You are beautiful no matter what your size.

We are all so quick to judge each other and even quicker to judge ourselves. If we ever wish to live in a world where we don’t criticize, judge and attack each other we first have to learn how to positively acknowledge, accept and uplift ourselves. This begins with our internal dialogue. We must learn how to become more kind and loving in the things we say to ourselves.

love-your-body-cover

Four Focus’s to Increase Body Love and Self Acceptance RSL Style

  1. When we look in the mirror we must train ourselves to focus on the things we love about our bodies.
  2. We must learn to seek out our strengths and enhance those qualities and allow them to be expressed more openly.
  3. When we create our lives we must train ourselves to invest time and energy into keeping ourselves healthy and high vibin- this includes making time for exercise, healthy food prep and a spiritual practice of meditation and gratitude cultivation.
  4. We have to train ourselves to seek beauty, joy and love- in everything we do, in every one we meet and in every circumstance we find ourselves in.

It is when we begin to define ourselves by who we are, what we stand for and the contribution we bring to this world- we will begin to witness a world characterized by love.

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

