A Return to Yin: Listening to the Body- Day 151: 365 Radical Self Love Project

After a short term back injury followed by a week away from home then a busy week back home, it was time for some yoga tonight.

My body was really craving some deep stretching and yin tonight was absolutely perfect. I knew I would have to take it easy as I re-integrated myself into the world of yoga and body movement. I could still sense a bit of tenderness in my back and so I surrendered.

images

I surrendered into allowing my body to guide my practice instead of my mind.

At one point we entered into a quad stretch with the option of a slight back bend. As I lowered into the posture I felt some compression in my lower back. I eased off immediately. A former way of being would have just had me push to my edge to avoid looking bad or from drawing any attention to me what so ever- at the expense of my health and wellbeing of my back.

Seeing I was not lowering into the back bend my beautiful instructor came to offer some support. I was tested again- I chose to share the truth with her about my recent injury and my choice to honour what my body was guiding me to do- which was to ease off the pose and reduce the stress on the back.

This action tonight was a huge win for my levels of confidence and self love. I chose to honour myself, what I needed regardless of how it occurred or appeared to others. The funny thing about this is the only person tuned into my practice was me, no one else was watching me or judging me.

This is a solid life lesson to take forward. Often the threats we perceive to be real are purely constructions of our own imagination. Everyone is so consumed with their lives we rarely actually take the time to sit in full judgement or consumption of another person’s life experience. We think we are the centre of everyone’s universe when in fact we are only the centre of our own. This frees up a lot of time and energy wasted on worrying about what other people think- a solid life lesson from the centre of my universe tonight- my yoga mat.

Grateful to be back, grateful to be in flow and grateful for the infinite intelligence of my body and spirit who were clearly sync’d up tonight 😉

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

