Dancing in the Streets- Lifts the Spirits Everytime- Day 125: 365 Radical Self Love Project

Today my energy was lower than it usually is

radical self love kelsey grantNo matter what I did today I was just having “one of those days” where it’s just a little more challenging to stay positive and not get triggered.

I feel so blessed that today I had the support of my wonderful man around to be there when I needed to talk, rant and clear. He was there to give me hugs when I needed them, a shoulder when I needed to cry and some truly lovely words when I needed a pep talk/reminder of why I am doing everything I am right now.

Still I found myself walking around with the essence of a thundercloud over my head.

Sensing my inner tension my partner suggested we go outside, get some fresh air and go for a walk. Although slightly resistant I knew it would help.

We bundled up headed out into the foggy night and allowed the internal clearing to sink in a little more.

On our way home still sensing my “seriousness” my lovely partner began to twirl me in the street. This broke me out of being in my head and brought me back to the present moment. It made me laugh, it made me smile inside and out. With a new lightness in my step and in my head we continued our walk home. For this I am incredibly grateful.

just-breathe-2

As we approached our apartment we saw the most amazing thing.

A street dancing extravaganza

The dancerOne woman-all alone, dressed in a bright and bold outfit, dancing in the street. Her head phones where on, eyes were closed, totally in the moment, just dancing away to what looked like a professionally choreographed number. As I observed this incredible brave act of self expression I also witnessed the snickering of people walking by and it got me to thinking.

We are all mirrors

She was living her truth, living her life by her terms, doing exactly what made her happy in that moment and for it she was being judged by external passer-by’s. I have come to learn that the judgements of others are simply cover ups for the suppression of their own self expression. People who judge others especially in this sense, on some level, wish they could be that free, they wish they could have that much courage and bravery to step out and be different and not give a shit about what anyone else thinks.

radical self love kelsey grantWhen we see someone living their truth it immediately highlights where in our lives we are not. This triggers us and instead of recognizing and saying “hmmm I’m totally going into judgement-what does this situation mean about me? Where am I not living my truth?”- we judge, ridicule and make fun of those who are leading by courageous example.

Dancing girl on the street’s of Yaletown I freaking acknowledge you

I acknowledge you for your bravery, for your courage, for your beautiful self expression, for your contribution of love energy into the world and for reminding me just how precious it is to live according to my internal compass and my heart. For this I am very grateful to you.

In the spirit of dancing in the street…

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

