What A Phone of Erased Text Messages Taught Me-Day 116: 365 Radical Self Love Project

A few days ago my phone erased all of my text messages.

radical self love kelsey grantYup you heard right, every single one of them- and it got me to thinking…WHY?!

To me it was a Universal nudge to take a look at my life and see where I am holding onto things, people or circumstances that are just taking up space and not contributing to my life in a positive way.

The clearing of my phone and all those messages was a symbol of letting go.

I like to hold onto things for sentimental reasons. I also know that more I hold on the less room I have for new loveliness to come into my life.

It also had me take a solid look at my relationship to attachment which goes hand in hand with wanting to hold onto things. The only reason I was upset about loosing my text messages is because I was attached to the meaning of them. Every message I had saved held a positive memory or a reminder. What there was to realize that even though the physical message was gone, the energetic memory will always remain. It also was a great bit of insight into how I have formed attachment to “things” and people in my life. These attachments are blocks to actual real time connection. They set me up for unfulfilled expectations and locking into a certain outcome which means I am never fully present because in every moment I can only be in tune with my expectations or in tune with the now, never both at the same time.

kelsey grant radical self love

How we do anything is how we do everything, meaning if I hold onto something as simple as a text message from last year chances are I will hold onto things in every area of my life. I hold onto memories good and bad. Most of the time the “bad” memories take precedence because they are the most emotionally charged and easiest ones to replay. The replay of the past is one of the ego’s tricky ways of strengthening itself as it removes me from the present moment and activates fear.

imagesGetting real with myself about this wasn’t easy but hey if I want to actually grow and expand I gotta be real about what is really going on in the corners of my mind. When I was able to see these deeper lessons within the experience I was able to let it go. There was nothing I could do to bring back the messages so I could simply dwell on that or move forward and build actual new memories of the positive variety in that moment. I chose door number two and I also chose to begin a process of clearing out.

Letting go of the physical “things” in my life that I no longer need or serve an actual present day purpose are being released from my home and my life. This process is one of spiritual, emotional and physical cleansing. It is also an invitation to the Universe to fill me up with more goodness here and now.

So at the end of the day loosing all my texts was one of the best things that could have happened 😉

My invitation to you is to consider and look at all areas of your life and see where you are holding onto “things” you no longer need. Then start the physical clear out. Making room for more love and awesomeness baby!!

images-1

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

