How Allowing Variety Leads to New Creative and Musical Awesomeness-Day 95: 365 Radical Self Love Project

A couple days ago I picked up my guitar for the first time in about a month.

Kelsey Grant radical self love Connor Beaton Photography

Music for me is a very intuitive thing. When I feel called to play or sing I just do, it isn’t something I can force to happen.

Ahhhh the lesson of allowing.

When I relax into life and enjoy the various outlets I have for creativity I am in the happiest KG zone. I’ve never been the type of person to pick one thing and only so that one thing until the end of time.

Variety is one of my top values. I find the most constructive and on purpose way to fulfill this need is to allow the various forms of creative expression which I have been blessed with, to flow through when the inspiration hits.

creativityMost days I write. I love writing and it is a fabulous source of creation and expression for me.

Other days I love singing and playing music.

Other days I love making beautiful meals.

Other days I love writing and creating new music.

Other days I paint.

Other days I dance.

If I had to pick only one of these things to do I would more than likely be miserable. They all bring me joy in their own unique way. This is what I know to be true: As a human I am constantly changing- right down to the physiology of my being, I am ever changing and evolving. So it only makes sense to me to have a variety of creative outlets as a means to harmonize with this basic human trait of change.

I also get this isn’t the path for everyone.  I can and do appreciate those who are able to commit themselves to a life long craft and dive to deeper and deeper lengths of knowledge and complexity in their specific chosen craft.

creativity-quotes-1

So whichever way you are know that its ok. However you express yourself, whether you have one dominant outlet or multiple ones like me or anything in between- you are perfect just the way you are.

On this note when the inspiration hit me for a new tune the other day I immediately responded and allowed the music to flow through. All this really means lovers is there will be a new tune to share with you soon and I am so excited to show it to you all!!

Express yourself, love yourself and allow yourself to flow with your exquisite creative expression. The world is always waiting for more of your greatness 😉

selwi0mib04kopdq2df0

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

4 thoughts on “How Allowing Variety Leads to New Creative and Musical Awesomeness-Day 95: 365 Radical Self Love Project

  1. Yeah Kelsey! I know what you mean because I operate the same way. Without variety, I feel a stagnancy deeper than boredom- just miserable. But with the variety to express the inspiration spontaneously flowing through me, I feel amazing!

      • I write, write poetry and lyrics, sing, play guitar and ukulele, draw, dance, crochet, bead….I love making ephemeral art that only lasts until the wind, ocean, or rain washes it away. I like to think and talk in metaphors and poems especially when directing my intentions towards plants and children. I also LOVE to re-use “trash” materials to make something new.

Leave a Reply

