What Hiking a Mountain Taught Me About Self Love Day 46: 365 RSL Project

Today I did something for the first time. I climbed the Grouse Grind. photo 1

This hiking trail is a famous trail and must see for most people visiting the beautiful city of Vancouver.  In the 4.5 years I have lived in this beauty of a city I had yet to make the trek up the mountain.

Today with my man and my mom we adventured up the 2.9km (1.8mile) mountain and in doing so I was present to some fabulous life lessons.

The 5 life lessons rocking the grind taught me today:

1. Life is not a race.

We will all get to where we are meant to go, in the perfect time. We are each dealing with different bodies, experiences and desired outcomes in life. To compare my experience to another person is just plain silly. I have no idea what is going on for someone else and to invest my time and energy into comparing where I am at in relation to where they are at is a waste of time. Today I honoured my body. I do know myself very well and only I knew what pace was going to be optimal for the epic up mountain journey. I went slow when I needed to, I rested when my body was tired, I drank water when I was thirsty and I went faster when I felt energized. I walked at a pace where I could maintain a positive internal dialogue AND deep, slow intentional breathing.

2. When I focus on the positive even the toughest summits are easily accomplished.

I knew enough today to use the power of positive framing to complete the trek from a space of accomplishment and empowerment. With each stair I climbed (2830 in total), all I repeated was the word YES. Each time I did this I was able to climb for longer with a greater sense of ease. The more positively I spoke to my body and was truly grateful for my bodies ability to rock this climb the better my body responded.

3. A high vibrational environment makes a really big positive difference.

I mean this in two ways. The external environment and the internal environment. Externally being in a beautiful old growth forest surrounded by moss, trees, plants, clean air and life energy at it’s highest began to increase my vibrational energy just by being in that environment. Internally my state was impacted by listening to a high vibin audio book called Working With the Law by Bob Proctor and Mary Morrissey. Hearing the positive messages within this audio book harmonized my internal state to be in greater alignment with Universal Law. This is always a good thing 😉

4. There is beauty everywhere.

This one is simple. Nature is stunning and life is just as stunning. Every single bit of it. If I simply open my eyes there is beauty everywhere I look. It all depends on the lens I am choosing to look at the world through. Seeing the world this way mirrors that on a deeper level I also see myself this way. I can only see something outside of myself which also exists within. Pure and simple.

5. People are  good and given the chance they will positively surprise you.

During this quest I observed many people stopping and offering help and support to others who were experiencing challenge. These glorious acts of kindness reminded me how amazing people actually are especially when they are given the space to show up that way.

photo 2

photo 4

photo 3All in all today was a beautiful adventure filled with juicy and incredible lessons. I am so grateful to be alive and to experience the awe and wonder this world has to offer.

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

Leave a Reply

