My Journey Towards a Healthier & More Positive Relationship to Food Day 45: 365 RSL Project

A huge part of my Radical Self Love journey has involved the incorporation of high vibrational and healthy foods.

I have learned what I put into my body has a direct correlation to what I get out of my body (and mind) and knowing this  has truly helped me develop a more positive self image and enables me to make more aligned and healthy choices when it comes to fuelling my vessel.

Food hasn’t always been an such a positive experience for me. For years I struggled with body image and having a pretty dysfunctional relationship to food. The youngest memory I have of this negative self image was when I was in 4th grade and thought I was fat. From there I created years and years of challenge and struggle with food.

6a011168668cad970c0147e2878c37970b-400wi

In my early 20’s after my main party phase had come to an end something inside of me urged me to make some pretty serious life changes. I left a dysfunctional relationship, went back to school, completed my degree and began to learn about health and fitness. From there I was able to (with years of dedication and focus) to shift my habits with food, thus significantly changing my physical body.

When my physical body was in the most optimal shape I had ever been in I was urged again by this little voice/guidance system within to go to the next level. This meant going inward into the patterns of my mind and really starting the journey of self awareness, personal growth and development. It was in this learning where I began to see that the ongoing negative self talk I had really made me feel shitty, and when I felt shitty I would just eat foods that mirrored my internal state of crappy feelings. Food was an emotional escape from having to really get real with how I was talking to myself and treating myself on the inside.

As I developed a more loving and positive relationship to myself my food choices naturally shifted. No extreme diets, no crazy exercise plans. It came down to this question:

If I really loved myself would I eat what I’m about to eat knowing the impact it will have on my state of mind and my body?

When I checked in with myself if the food choice was going to benefit my growth and leave me honestly feeling better (physically, emotionally, spiritually) then I would do it. If any of those three weren’t met I would make a different choice which allowed me to stay on the path of feeling good.

This doesn’t mean that I never ate junk food again (I love chips and there is a good chance I always will). All this meant was I no longer was eating to avoid feeling the emotions I was experiencing. It meant that if I did want to eat some chips I would and I would feel happy and empowered about it. It also usually meant I would eat less of the crappy foods and eat more of the high vibin foods that left me feeling lighter and brighter.

imagesThere are days when it still surfaces and I really am challenged with viewing my body through a positive and empowered lens. When these moments arise I acknowledge them, I thank them for being and I revoke their invitation to stay and take over my experience. I have new coping mechanisms such as yoga and juicing which help nourish me on every level even when shit hits the fan.

This new perspective also birthed something I never imagined- A passion for cooking and creating beauty with food.  For the past 8.5 years I have immersed myself with learning new techniques, new cultures and mastering my ability to positively cook with intention. All the food I now make, I ensure I am vibin in a state of love and gratitude BEFORE I ever being the process of creation. I allow my skill of attention to detail, my values of high quality and my desire to make sure people are really taken care of to shape the experience of food creation.

Tonight I was blessed with the opportunity to do something I honestly love and prepare food for those I love. I rocked a beautiful summer salad with the best ingredient I know ~ LOVE 😉photo

Radical Self Love to the MAX!!!

Kels

p.s. I’ll post the recipe for the salad on the FB page tomorrow! Check it out if you wanna re-create your own version of this beauty!

6 thoughts on “My Journey Towards a Healthier & More Positive Relationship to Food Day 45: 365 RSL Project

    • You are very welcome Shay! It is always nice to have these reminders that we are in this together and I honestly feel the more openly we speak about our truth the less power our fears and negative self perceptions have. For me at least speaking honestly about my journey frees me and in this experience of freedom I’m back in a more positive vibrational alignment. It’s a win all around 😉 Big love!

Leave a Reply

